Black Film Got Folks Shook

Hey everybody! I’m so sorry I haven’t written since March. I had my 22nd birthday in April and just graduated college a week and a half ago. For those who are curious, I graduated Magna Cum Laude from Rider University with a B.A. in graphic design and a double minor in advertising/web design. So holla at me if you’re hiring. For now, I’ve taken on a freelance marketing/design position at a non-profit in Bronx, NY in which I get to work from home.


In addition to graduating, my two friends and I treated ourselves to a “graduation vacation” to Jamaica and I just got back yesterday. I’m sharing all of this to get to today’s topic: the Netflix original series Dear White People. On the flight to Jamaica, I started watching the show and I ended up finishing it during my trip. I was blown away. Ya’ll thought Get Out had me shook? Racism, natural hair, homosexuality, gun violence – creator Justin Simien left no stone unturned with this one. Dear White People was even more relatable to me because my alma mater, Rider University,  was a PWI.


Although I may not be as radical as the main character Samantha White, here’s 5 quotes that had me screaming YASSS in agreement on the plane to Jamaica:

1. “So, nah, you don’t get to show up in a Halloween costume version of us and claim irony or ignorance.” -Sam

It’s 2017 and I’m no longer accepting excuses fueled by white privilege. Don’t play dumb honey.

2. “Dear white people, dating a Black guy to piss off your parents doesn’t make you down. It makes you an asshole.” -CoCo

Literally! Just because you mess with a Black guy or girl, you’re not suddenly cultured. You might listen to NWA with ya little boyfriend, but you still get to go home to The Hills.


3. “People take one look at my skin and assume that I’m poor, or uneducated, or ratchet. So yeah, I tone it down.” -CoCo

I felt for Coco because as a Black woman, I’m thought of as loud or angry when I’m just being my candid self. I’ve felt the need to tame my hair for interviews and put on my “White voice” during business calls.

4. “Sometimes being carefree and Black is an act of revolution.” -Jo

Rightt?!? I’m all for change, but I’m not usually the one to organize a protest or sit in. Proving racists wrong with my lifestyle is enough for me sometimes.

“I’ll bring some Beyoncé and blast ‘Freedom’.”


5. “Yeah we’re friends, but suddenly I’m supposed to give you ngga dispensation?” -Reggie

Rule of thumb: don’t say the N word if you’re not Black. Honestly, we shouldn’t even say it. But idc if you voted for Obama or you “have a Black friend”. It’s off limits.

6. “…wasting time, deciding who’s Black enough. Who cares if you’re woke or not if you’re dead?” -CoCo

Okay I had to add a 6th quote because this is super important. It doesn’t matter if you’re natural, wear a weave, come from Kenya, have one white parent, woke or not. We’re all Black and we’re all the same in the eyes of racists. Even 23-year-old Richard Collins III, who served this damn country, was seen as “other”. I’m tired of Black people being in competition with one another. We need togetherness now more than ever.

If you haven’t watched Dear White People, this is my plug for you to do so. Watch the movie of the same name too. If you have seen it, comment a good quote/scene I may have missed. Until next time xoxo

Leave a Reply

