Dating in the Digital Age

First and foremost, I want to thank those that are still rocking with me and YBO! I started this blog over a year ago and I still love sharing my thoughts and opinions with you guys. I always say that I don’t care if I reach two people or two hundred, as long as I reach someone in a positive way. With that being said, I know I haven’t written in a month but you probably wouldn’t have time to  either if you had one semester left in college!

Speaking of college, as I look around at my peers and our general age group, I’m seeing a particular trend take off. Online dating has made it incredibly easy to “meet” someone and be in their bed by the end of that night. I’m not talking about your mom and dad’s eHarmony or Match.com. Apps like Tinder, Bumble, and OK Cupid allow you to “match” with someone near you geographically based on a few pictures and a short biography.

I’ve spent a little time on Tinder before and I’m sure you have too. If you say you’ve never even checked it out, you’ve got to be lying! The concept of it is great. Having hundreds of prospects at your fingertips beats trying to talk to one guy all night just to find out he has a girl at home. I don’t have to tell you that you don’t go on Tinder to meet your future spouse. While it’s possible to meet someone real with serious intentions, it’s not likely. The boldness of some of the dudes on there still surprises me though haha. I’m talking about the “If you’re not f*cking, it was nice knowing you” types. Like damn, nice meeting you too.

fullsizerender-3

Is it really meeting though? You swipe right cause they’re cute, they say they like movies, and they’re a Sagittarius or some similar dumb ish. Then in the DMs it’s always the same song and dance. “I don’t come on here much.” “I’m not sure what I’m looking for.” My only suggestion to weed out the bs is get the conversation off whatever app you’re on and into real life. I personally can tell a lot more about someone from FaceTiming than a Tinder conversation with days in between responses.

From there, you have to meet in person. I strongly believe that online dating cannot stay online. Ya’ll already know what I’m going to say next. A date in a public place is the best way to vet someone. If you just sucked your teeth at that you’re part of the problem with this generation. “Why do I have to spend $50 on a girl I’m not even sure about yet?” Where did I say spend $50? A picnic in the park with the free food from your crib is a date. Five dollar frozen yogurt is a date. Think outside the box! I can almost guarantee you that a girl is going to like you even more for being creative than leaving the waiter a $20 tip.

There’s a chance the date won’t go great. That is ok! If I told you guys all the bad dates I’ve been on, you would piss yourself from laughing at me. I got set tf up last Saturday and I’m too embarrassed to even share the story here. Don’t think of it as a waste of time or money. I’d rather a bad first date than get played for months. At least you know that person isn’t for you early on.

Aside from apps specifically for dating, other social media platforms have inadvertently presented opportunities to find that special someone. I’ve heard a few success stories come from Instagram. This makes a lot of sense to me, the IG investigator. With one glance at a stranger’s Instagram, I can tell you about their sense of humor, their morals, and which one of their followers they’re still messing with. Instagram is like a summary of someone’s life which does a lot more for you than their old Facebook interests linked to their Tinder.

In a perfect world, we would all go out and fall in love at first sight with someone in the frozen food aisle. But this isn’t a rom-com and people don’t talk to each other in real life anymore (more on that soon). Shoot your shot online (ladies too), allow them to show their true self, and proceed with caution. We have all these new ways to start a relationship (or get in someone’s pants). We just have to use them wisely.

Leave a Reply

