Men’s Texting Habits Revealed


I texted him first yesterday so he should text me first today.

It doesn’t take 5 hours to work out. WHY hasn’t he texted back??

Welcome to the mind of a female (a slightly obsessed female I should say). Some women can go about their day without checking for a text back. Other’s analyze every minute of the conversation thread, reading and rereading those blue and gray bubbles. For the latter, texting is a big part of their relationship/situationship.  I’ve been there and can say that to me personally, texting is a convenient form of communication that, in the past, I equated to how much my guy cares about me. That’s not necessarily true. Like most things, men and women view texting differently. Instead of guessing what they’re thinking I actually asked them to get down to the bottom of this mystery.

1. Is texting your preferred communication with a girl? Why or why not?

“I’d rather text because I hate talking on the phone. Between my mom and girlfriend on the phone it’s like taking away 3 hours a day of my life.” -Chris, 21

“I feel that I can get to know a person more while on the phone or Facetiming as well. I would also prefer this method over texting because you are able to see mannerisms and can sense certain attitudes/vibes when a person is talking with you.” – Brandan, 22

2. Let’s be honest – why do guys take forever to text back?

“Sleeping, playing 2k or I’ve seen something in the message that I have to think about before I respond. Might take a few hours to have a good answer.” -Dwayne, 26

“Just as women are busy, men are also busy. I know that’s why it takes me a while. Or I genuinely forget to hit send. It happens a lot.” -Mike, 20

“Dudes take forever to text back 1) so they don’t look pressed because no girl likes a over zealous guy and 2) they might in fact actually be busy low key maybe high key lol.” -Nate, 21

3. If you’re into a girl do you text her more or the same as everyone else?

“I can text that person back ASAP. I’ll pause my game of 2k for it.” -Mike, 20

“If I’m into a female, then I will usually text her more than anybody else because I’m intrigued by her . So I’m trying to get to know her better and set up a good relationship.” -Josiah, 26

4. What does it mean when you’re being short with a girl over text? Mad? Busy?

“When I’m being short with a girl that should be a clear sign of I’m not into you. If a girl gives a long drawn out text and I just respond with an “ok”, that should tell you something. Unless I specifically say I’m not in the texting mood or I’m busy.” -Aaron, 21

“Most likely I’m mad about something. Doesn’t necessarily have to be her.” -Dwayne, 26

“When I am short with a girl  either I am busy or I just ran out of stuff to say it’s really unintentional. Just happens.” -Nate, 21

5. What is the most annoying thing girls do over text (i.e. overuse emojis, start fights, send paragraphs)?

“For me it is sending a long text. That will irritate me the most. I don’t want to spend 20 minutes trying to read and decipher a text . If you have that much to say then just call me.” -Josiah, 26

6. How important are “good morning” and “good night” texts to you?

“I don’t feel it is as important if we are just talking. I’m perfectly fine with someone picking up where they left off with the conversation the night before.” -Aaron, 21

“Girls should not be so pressed for a guy to send a good morning or good night text everyday because in essence it has the potential to become a routine rather than a genuine want to wish you a good morning or good night.” -Brandan, 22

7. What are you thinking when you post on social media before texting someone?

“Nothing lol It shouldn’t be that big of a deal. I could simply be trying to get my thoughts out the way on Twitter or Instagram.” -Mike, 20

“Honestly, when you think about it, is a guy posting on social media before he texts really going to be the determinant of whether or not he is feeling you or you feeling him? Let’s say a guy does everything in the book for you  but posts on social media before he texts you back. Are you going to break things off with him simply because of this?” -Brandan, 22

As you can see from this group of guys, texting is not the end all to be all. I’m still wrapping my mind around this because I’m someone who is on my phone 24/7. I feel like if you love me so much you should be thinking of me and that translates to a text. This is 1000% inaccurate. Some guys just find texting back and forth all day boring. Others don’t have much to say. You might get a guy who has no problem triple texting but ladies, didn’t you find it annoying when the guy you met at the club blew up your phone the next day?

Put yourself in their shoes. I won’t say all, but a lot of guys don’t need words of affirmation like we do. So try not to take a man’s texting habits too seriously. What you should pay attention to is how he treats you and talks to you in person. Roses mean more to me than a good morning text that he probably sent to four other girls. Think about it this way – you know your best friend is there for you no matter what. But do you text her ALL day? Of course not. Sure, you might hit up the group chat throughout the day but if your bestie doesn’t text you back do you run to Snapchat acting petty? Hell no! That would be psycho and when you do it with guys that’s exactly how you come off. No one wants to wake up from an innocent nap to a “so you can’t text back??” Live the life in front of you, not the one in your phone. Wow I should take my own advice lol I’m learning just like you all. But seriously, watch how the dynamic changes when you’re not waiting on a text message. Easier said than done, but try it with me.

One comment

  1. Anonymous · June 27, 2016

    Good stuff!! As a girl I feel like I’m gonna take this information & apply it real life

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

