3 Reasons Not to #WasteTheirTime

Oh lawd, Black Twitter has done it again with yesterday’s already played out hashtags #WasteHisTime2016 and #WasteHerTime2016. Some tweets were jokes, some seemed genuine (sadly), all with the gist of the trend being to lead someone on. Clearly even I was entertained if I gave in and retweeted the tweet below:

image1

With all jokes aside, these hashtags had me shaking my head because dating in my generation is really like this. We invented the “talking” phase where both parties act like they’re in a relationship but don’t have a “title” and it just becomes a mess from that point. In the end, someone’s time is wasted and feelings are hurt. What if adults my age didn’t #WasteHisTime2016 and were actually this crazy thing called HONEST from the jump? Frankly, I’d rather a guy tell me he’s trying to hit than use some recycled pick up lines on me. Fellas, please leave “I’m trying to make you mine” in 2o15!

I’m no relationship expert by many means but my simple rule is this: If you’re feeling the person heavy, cuff them. If not, don’t waste their time. Still not sold? Here’s 3 reasons not to #WasteTheirTime:

  1. It’s childish

We are too grown to be playing games with people’s hearts. Going back and forth with someone and pretending to like them seems like high school tendencies to me. Honesty is a major building block to the foundation of a mature relationship.

2. It makes you look bad

You may or may not care, but when you play with people the word gets around about you. “He’s a flirt” or “She’ll friendzone you” aren’t just rumors when you’ve played everyone in your DMs. Sooner or later you’re going to be tweeting #Can’tFindAGirl because your messages are dry. No one wants to be your next victim.

3. You waste your own time

Wasting someone’s time may reap artificial rewards but being in a real relationship has even bigger rewards. You could be creating a genuine connection with someone if you weren’t so busy wasting 5 people’s time at once. You may feel like top dog for playing them or “winning” but as DJ Khaled once said, “Congratulations, you played yourself.”

*Sigh* I hope you guys take what I’ve said to heart. I couldn’t believe this hashtag popped up in 2016. I thought we were all gung ho about “change” and “bettering ourselves.” Let me know what you guys think in the comments below!

2 comments

  1. Erin · January 7, 2016

    Overall this has to be the realist about relationships and our generation that loves to play games. It is not just males but also females sadly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen · January 7, 2016

    Excellent

    Like

Leave a Reply

