Coming Out in Hip-Hop

Last night #OutinHipHop began to trend as rapper Miles Brock aka “Siir Brock” came out to his friends, family and the world on Love & Hip-Hop: Hollywood. While the show normally provides me with ratchet drama and celebrity gossip, this episode was very serious and heart wrenching. The hip hop star has been secretly dating rapper/producer/model Milan Christopher, secret to his friends and family that is. The rest of us have known all season. Miles finally revealed to his long time lover and friend Amber Hunter aka “Fabb Abb” that he was gay at a sit down with his therapist. He later told his sisters at home.

Miles Brock

Miles Brock aka “Siir Brock”, 27, recently revealed he is homosexual on Love & Hip Hop: Hollywood. Photo courtesy of VH1.

In the world of hip hop and in the African American community as a whole, being gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender is not only frowned upon but seen as a disgrace to many. I don’t know why it is worse to my people but it just is. It seems that way at least. Heck, I was called a dyke in elementary school as an insult and I was so young I didn’t even know what that meant. It’s not uncommon for slurs and prejudice jokes like this to be in rap songs or the homes of Black people.

Without getting too political with my views on homosexuality, I want to express why this episode was so “heart wrenching” as I said. It was a combination of the look on Miles’ face as he told Amber and how the words seemed to be stuck right in his throat. A grown man was afraid and embarrassed to share a part of who he was. Now, of course he was more scared because he strung this girl along romantically but that’s besides the point. The point is, I watched in awe as he had to muster up the courage to tell her he liked men. Consider this: was it that hard for me to tell my parents I had my first crush on a boy? No. I never ever had to endure what he did. Let alone on national television. The reason being because I am a girl and it is ok for girls to like boys. As soon as a Black man has feelings for another man he has to hide it and feel ashamed. That’s just not right to me. No one should ever have to hide who they are in fear of being judged.

I could really say more about this topic but maybe I’ll save it for a later date. I just wanted to share that it still amazes me that in the year 2015 when gay marriage is legal, millions of people are still “in the closet” so to speak. Millions of people are living a double life every day just to fit in. And in the Black community, they better not dare let their mask slip off. Whether you agree with homosexuality or not, be empathetic. Put yourself in their shoes. Would you be able to juggle two lives or would you get exhausted? If you or someone you know is going through this day in and day out, you don’t have to. It took Miles Brock years to come out but now that he has, a weight has been lifted. Join him by visiting outinhiphop.vh1.com.

Leave a Reply

