Black Twitter returns for Empire

Empire has returned and the gloves are off! The series premiered for its second season last night on Fox and was crazy dramatic. I watched with my boyfriend, who I turned to the dark side mid-season last year, and we both loved it. If you haven’t watched it yet I won’t spoil it for you. All I’m going to say is Chris Rock, head in a box, Shmurda dance and that feeling when your momma slaps the tears out of you. It was a great start to the season. They seriously need to make this show 2 hours long.

As much as I would like to keep talking about Taraji P. Henson in a denim and gold jacket, today’s post is about Black Twitter. Black Twitter (n.) : the feeling of togetherness African-Americans create on the social media platform Twitter when an important event occurs in sports, news, or entertainment. That’s my attempt at a definition for those people who are not familiar with this concept. Black Twitter to me is when I go on Twitter and I see most of my African-American followers tweeting, laughing or freaking out about the same thing. When Black Twitter gets a hold of something there’s no escaping it for days.

For example, when Drake and Future released their mixtape on Sunday titled What a Time to Be Alive (shoutout to them and my favorite song Plastic Bag), all I saw down my timeline was #WATTBA or the diamond emoji. My Black followers can’t and still have not stopped talking about it. They went crazy over the release, as I did, and it felt like I was passing around a mix CD with my friends.

FullSizeRender (3)FullSizeRender (2)

All talk of WATTBA ceased last night when Empire came on. The hot topic for Black Twitter changed from this mixtape to Lucious’ crazy a** in jail. The best way to describe what occured last night is sitting in the living room watching your favorite show with your friends but instead of your friends it’s your 500+ followers at your fingertips. For one night a week, Black people around the nation put their differences aside and laugh in unison at the antics of Cookie and Lucious. That to me is so powerful. Mixed girls from South Jersey and tough guys from New York may not have anything else in common, but for one hour on Wednesday nights everyone is on one accord. For that one hour, 90% of my timeline is talking about the same thing, giving their raw opinions. Television is so powerful. Combined with social media, it’s life changing.

Life changing might be a stretch, but for me it’s incredible to see. Black Twitter will always have a place in my heart. From belly laughs to thought provoking tweets, African Americans everywhere give me a sense of community online through Black Twitter. So I end with this: thank you to my followers and keep up the quickness with your memes.

Leave a Reply

