The YBO Woman

Black girls are loud. Black girls have attitude. Black girls are rude.

I’m not sure where these stereotypes were born, or how they evolved, but I’m here to break them. My name is Christina Royster, and as my blog name suggests, I’m young, black, and opinionated. If you follow along you’ll soon find out I’m much more than that though. I’m a sister, daughter, friend, manager, artist and the list goes on. Every day, I break stereotypes by just being myself. Guess what…I’m not the only one doing it! This blog is for women just like me who need empowerment because they feel misunderstood or ignored. I want women of color to know they are not alone in the issues they face, and to be a voice for them.

This is not to push away readers of other ethnicities. In fact, I encourage you to read Young, Black and Opinionated if you aren’t Black. The only way to change society from thinking the way they do about the stereotypes I opened with is to educate about the average African American woman’s lifestyle. I’ll be discussing everything from Bantu knots to Black Twitter. If you don’t know what either of these things are, prepare to have your mind blown.

Keep in mind that whatever I write about is my opinion. My blog posts are not to be mistaken as a universal experience for all Black women. I’m just a 20-year-old, brown skin woman with a lot to say and I’m pretty sure there’s someone out there who agrees with me.

Christina D. Royster

Christina D. Royster

2 comments

  1. Old, black, and wise · March 30, 2016

    Fact is that you are loud and rude af on the daily lmao

    Like

Leave a Reply

